Skip to content

“To have garden, is to believe in tomorrow” – Audrey Hepburn

June 10, 2014

Hey all! At the end of last year I swore up and down that I was NOT going to have a garden. Well, Steve looked at me with big puppy dog eyes and  whimpered, “what do you mean we are going to have veggies?!”  I buckled. Our veggie garden is even bigger than last year. LOL. It absolutely amazes me to see how much changes in a year. Last year I was in the mode where I was bound and determined to make this whole house my own and put my mark on it. I started ripping out and transplanting all the bushes and irises that were over grown and not taken care of. These bushes above were some in question. Let me just say I’m so happy that we left them alone. To find out they were lilac bushes sent me over the moon!!!!!!!!!!! I’m obsessed with lilac bushes. The smell is amaze-balls!

My planter from last year with fushcia in it. Abel is just trying to be a model for the "perfect" home ad. LOL.

My planter from last year with fuscia in it. Abel is just trying to be a model for the “perfect” home ad. LOL.

Abel just cracks me up. His personality is so silly! When I walk the house he is my little duckling running right behind me. If he could talk he would say, “Mama, why aren’t you paying attention to me? Look at me! Look at me! Look at me! Don’t pick me up!!” Hahaha no wonder they look at me crazy.

This has bloomed so much! The flowers haven't opened up just yet. I will post an update when they do.

This has bloomed so much! The flowers haven’t opened up just yet. I will post an update when they do.

So neat and in order! Yippie!

Last year these daylilies were so thin. It looks so great in just one year!

Last year these daylilies were so thin. It looks so great in just one year!

Filled in daylilies.

The vegetable garden has cauliflower, green pepper, zucchini, jalapeno, and rosemary. (The lettuce died.) :(

The vegetable garden has califlower, green pepper, zuchinni, jalapeno, and rosemary. (The lettuce died.) 😦

I can’t believe I went from not ever having an indoor potted plant a year ago, and now I have a veggie garden among other various plants. Whew! I’m sweating just thinking of all the work.

Walkway to the veggie garden. I'm not sure if I really like this, so it's still a work in progress.

Walkway to the veggie garden. I’m not sure if I really like this, so it’s still a work in progress.

This whole back area makes my OCD alarm go off. I just doesn’t feel right. I would like to plant some tall grasses around the pole of the satellite dish to hide it. The stones need to be buried or I need more of them. I just don’t know!!! Ugh! lol

Last year the tomatoes were on the other side of patio and didn't get much sun so I swapped to the other side. Lets cross our fingers they do much better.

Last year the tomatoes were on the other side of patio and didn’t get much sun so I swapped to the other side. Lets cross our fingers they do much better.

We already have used the heck out of the mint to make mojitos our anniversary weekend. Woot woot! I think it was best to plant them in pots so I can bring them in and have fresh herbs in the fall.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

