Skip to content

How I made my small home feel BIG!

February 4, 2014

Good Morning all! Hope you slept well. 😉 I went to bed super inspired remembering that this site is all about my life not someone else’s. I was getting really down that my posts wouldn’t meet up to other peoples expectations and fabolous blogs. But guess what?! It doesn’t matter. There is only one me. These are my opinions, family traditions, and tips I’ve learned along the way. Okay! Let’s move along! Shall we? Hehe.

We bought this town home end of April of 2013. Let me just say that I look back sometimes and kick myself for not looking a little harder for something further along the renovation highway, but I know my instincts for finding a diamond in the rough is pretty good. So if your house needs a lot of work don’t get over-whelmed, just remember these are oppourtunites for you to put your own stamp on them and challenge to do things on a budget but for maximum profit.

I think the biggest question you should ask yourself would be “Is this my forever home?” If it is bravo! You may proceed any way you want putting your stamp on everything you want no holds barred! Get crazy people! High school Melissa would have her house sparkles, giant flowers and cheetah galore! (Like a jersey barbie! Sweet!) If not, you are in my boat. Don’t worry this does not make you up (you know what’s) creek without a paddle. Excuse my french. It will be a challenge but remember to keep the foundation things that will be left behind and not easily changed neutral. Get crazy with art, pillows, nick-nacks, mirrors, and whatever else can be taken down and hidden.

I walked into our little townhouse with some rose-colored glasses on, but that’s okay. I saw all the walls painted with bad faux wall paper techinques and said this will be a huge makeover! How fun! Let me tell you the challenges of raised texture on walls when people use craft paint instead of wall paint. My clean, crisp designs DO NOT like wall texture. I see wainscotting and bead board in this houses future! Muahahaha!

First off remove all yucky, dark curtains and let the light in baba! We are not vampires and teenagers sleeping all day long. I find natural light so theraputic every morning the first thing I do is open all the blinds. I like to white, sheery and airy curtains. Make sure you put the rod as close to the ceiling as possible to add height to the room and make the windows appear larger than they are. I tried to also use rods that were close to the wall color to blend in to create more “visual space.” Our master bedroom is the only room we have replaced the blinds and that was because Steve and the blind cord had a date with the palm sander. Oops!

Cleaning your windows will allow more light in. I live in a townhouse don't hate on my satillite dish. lol.

Cleaning your windows will allow more light in. I live in a townhouse don’t hate on my satillite dish. lol.

This is the side light on our front door.  It was covered with a Navy curtain when we moved in. When I took it down people could see right in so we used contact paper to "frost" it and allow the natural light in.

This is the side light on our front door. It was covered with a Navy curtain when we moved in. When I took it down people could see right in so we used contact paper to “frost” it and allow the natural light in.

Lighting is also very important. Take down all old ceiling fans and light fixtures. Either wash them, paint dark ugly things on them lighter colors (usually crisp white), or donate them and buy something new. I found using clear glass, white, as well as, silver makes it feel more open.All of my tables in my living room are glass to let the eye just see through them. Don’t just settle for a light fixture do the work and look for deals. I almost spent 3 times the amount on a chandilier for the dining room, but waited and walked into menards one day to find my current one for $130.

This is the master bedroom fan. The old one was yucky brown. with all the stuff going on around it white was best.

This is the master bedroom fan. The old one was yucky brown. with all the stuff going on around it white was best.

This is the guest bedroom fan. I wanted to go with white so it would blend in and other things could be the focus in the room.

This is the guest bedroom fan. I wanted to go with white so it would blend in and other things could be the focus in the room.

Dining room light with crystal silver and gold beads inside it help reflect light all around the room.

Dining room light with crystal silver and gold beads inside it help reflect light all around the room.

The entry light was also an update. The old light looked like it was alien abduction tool. This was simple and classic. Clean lines and clear glass to brighten up the room.

The entry light was also an update. The old light looked like it was alien abduction tool. This was simple and classic. Clean lines and clear glass to brighten up the room.

Use reflective things to decorate with. Place mirrors in positions where they will bounce light from windows and lamps to darker areas of the house. I didn’t realize until we lived here for a while that our windows are only one 2 sides of our town home so we only get sun during certain portions of the day. My kitchen is a dungeon! Metals and glass will reflect light or allow it to pass through. Ah, yes! Clean your windows at least once a month. It’s all about using what you have to the fullest potential.

Putting a mirror behind a lamp will help bounce light around a room.

Putting a mirror behind a lamp will help bounce light around a room.

Sorry about the weird angle, but this is my small hallway. This mirror reflects light from the master bedroom and guest bedroom to keep it brighter throughout the day.

Sorry about the weird angle, but this is my small hallway. This mirror reflects light from the master bedroom and guest bedroom to keep it brighter throughout the day.

Paint your house! Most people think that bright sunny yellows and electric colors will bring light to a room. No. A cool color pallete will receed the eye and push the walls outward. Make sure you pick colors that aren’t too dark because that will close off the room and make if feel smaller. If you hate them don’t worry paint is just paint it can always be changed. Get paint samples and test them on the walls and look at what they do to the space different times of the day. Personally, I love whites, grays, and blues. I’m like Pablo Picasso in his blue period right now…. So, that’s what I used so far. Paint the trim around door and baseboards that will make things feel crisp and new.

This was country picket fence and floral before. It's not completely updated but all we could afford so far. Once again a brighter blue with white finishes and glass jars filled with white things on the counter top.

This was country picket fence and floral before. It’s not completely updated but all we could afford so far. Once again a brighter blue with white finishes and glass jars filled with white things on the counter top.


The paint on these walls before was awful. I'll put up a post of before feather duster stamped walls. We chose a light blue and a large dark mirror for visual interest. You can also see the curtains are light and airy.

The paint on these walls before was awful. I’ll put up a post of before feather duster stamped walls. We chose a light blue and a large dark mirror for visual interest. You can also see the curtains are light and airy.

I saw a post on pinterest where someone did this with tape on their focus wall and was obsessed with it. We painted this though. I also made the mirror off another tutorial. It really brings the whole room to life.

I saw a post on pinterest where someone did this with tape on their focus wall and was obsessed with it. We painted this though. I also made the mirror off another tutorial. It really brings the whole room to life.

Here is the link for the bedroom wall from the nester. http://www.thenester.com/2012/08/no-paint-diamond-wall.html

Get rid of clutter. Do you really need 3 boxes of notes from your bestie in high school? You know what you use and what you don’t. Just remember if you are using space for all your old things you will never have space for new cooler things that you just have to have. (I remind myself of this daily.) I say if you’ve had it for 2 years and never use it get rid of it right now! Right now! I said right now! Have furniture that is multipurpose. Like tables that are for lamps and have storage underneath. You can also, marry a skinny husband, lose a few pounds, and have small dogs. LOL. Everything else will feel huge!!!!!!!!

From → Home Remodeling

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

