Skip to content

Killing Japanese Beetles without Chemicals

August 9, 2013
Leaves eaten by Japanese Beetles

Leaves eaten by Japanese Beetles

Leaves eaten by Japanese Beetles

Leaves eaten by Japanese Beetles


Okay! This new gardner is getting mad at these beetles they are eating all my new plants! Waaaahhh!!! I’ve heard a few times now that this techinque works here goes. I hate chemicals, so I filled an old washed out spray bottle with a few drops of Dawn soap and water. Shake it up and spray away! I sprayed my bushes that these bugs love then all of my pepper, tomato, and herbs. I will update the condition of the edible plants, but I found a few beetles on the bush and SOAKED them. They literally rolled over and died. Try it out and let me know how it works for you.

One Comment
  1. Update! Do not spray on fragile herbs or flowers! It will kill the beetles if you soak them with the mixture, but is best to fill a bucket with soapy water and shake them into it.

Leave a Reply

