Skip to content

Growing tomatoes, peppers and herbs

August 2, 2013
This is the first signs of peppers on the only pepper plant we have.

This is the first signs of peppers on the only pepper plant we have.

This is the first signs of peppers that we have growing I have about 7 small/medium-sized flowers, and 6 little blooms. I had no idea that the peppers came out of the flowers?! Whoa!

Lost the tag for what type of tomatoes these are. LOL.

Lost the tag for what type of tomatoes these are. LOL.

This is the smallest tomato plant that I have, yet, it has the largest tomatoes. Go figure?! So, I totally lost the marker for this one and have no idea what type of tomatoes these are. And this one is just under a foot tall.

Little buds of tomatoes finally growing.

Little buds of tomatoes finally growing.

Now this plant is a hybrid super sweet cherry tomato plant. My hard work and diligence is finally starting to pay off I was thinking we were just going to get tall plants with no tomatoes. There are about 5 growing new on here! YAY! After researching how to get tomato plants to grow the fruit and stop growing branches I realized I was doing a few things wrong. So this is what I’ve done to make them grow fruit. I went to the “v” or crotch joint of the stems and pinched off all the suckers. Some were already growing into larger branches so I used kitchen scissors to cut them off. All my plants over a foot tall, I cut the bottom stems off that were close to the ground I would say the bottom 5-6 inches. I also cut off all the stems with leaves that were crisscrossing and not allowing sun to get to the ones below, except for the ones right over the tomatoes because those prevent the fruit from getting sunburned. I water once a day from the bottom of the plants to avoid spreading any possible dirt born diseases. Now for the past week I have been shaking the plant for the pollen to fall and spread to the proper parts of the plant.

Rapidly growing, Dill, and Basils

Rapidly growing, Dill, and Basils

Here is the dill, purple basil, and sweet basil, they are pretty self-sufficient, the only things I do is pinch any flowers growing at the top of the bunches so they will continue to produce more foliage and rip off anything on the ground or eaten by what I suspect is asian beetles.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

