Skip to content

Overnight oatmeal

July 23, 2013

Overnight Oatmeal Ingredients

Overnight Oatmeal Ingredients

Although I usually try to stay away from carbs in the morning I love this recipe and it beats grabbing a granola bar or other not very nutritional food. Plus, I am constantly trying to get Steve to eat breakfast as long as I use the blueberry Trader Joe’s yogurt he will eat it. The guys at work crack jokes that he’s trying to gain weight by eating a jar of ranch dressing, but trust, it tastes delicious!

Ingredients:

1/3 cup of rolled oats
1/3 cup of yogurt (I use the Trader Joe’s blueberry’s and cream for Steve exactly 1/3 cup!)
1/3 cup of milk or vanilla almond milk unsweetened for me
shake of cinnamon
Any berries or fruit you like as much as you like (I usually use strawberries, blueberries, and half a banana)

Put all ingredients in a jar screw on lid and shake. Place in refrigerator overnight enjoy in the morning.

Tips:
-Change yogurt to greek yogurt, I like Fage, but add my local honey for sweetness (helps with seasonal allergies too!)
-Add crunchy granola or chopped nuts like walnuts or pecans right before eating
-Change flavors of yogurt or fruit to make other fun flavors
-Put a dollup of cookie or peanut butter ontop
-Add a teaspoon of wheat grem, chia seeds, or protein powder for an added boost
– Use frozen or fresh berries and fruit (My parents brought strawberries from their garden and I buy huge container of blueberries from Costco and freeze half in a bag for snacking and recipes.)

From → Food

One Comment
  1. Everything is very open with a precise explanation of the challenges.
    It was definitely informative. Your site is very useful.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

