Skip to content

Newbie Gardener

July 23, 2013

So, this is my first time ever having a garden or tending to plants alone. In typical “Melissa Fashion” I go online a read a few things about planting and boom! Let’s try to redo the whole planter beds!
The 2 things I seem to find in my research is that for tomatoes, fish fertilizer and Epsom salts are great! After purchasing both I find that they are also good for all plants! BONUS!!! Haha. For the Epsom salts I spread about a tablespoon in the soil in the hole I dug out for each plant, then, I made a mixture in a spray bottle of mostly water and a few tablespoons I shake it and spray on all the plants every other day.
The bag even gives instructions too!
Tomatoes: One teaspoon per foot plant height every 2 weeks

Fish fertilizer is so stinky stuff. If you can handle the smell I say go for it because I feel I can use any boost since I have no idea what I’m doing… 2 tablespoons per gallon of water which cover 25 square feet of soil. I need a new watering can because the one I bought is plastic and seems to leak from everywhere covering me in fish water. ICK! I came inside and George tried to eat me!

Alaska Fish Fertilizer and Epsom Salt

Alaska Fish Fertilizer and Epsom Salt

These are my first tomatoes! YAY! Seems that the fertilizers are working.

These are the very first signs of large tomatoes very excited.

These are the very first signs of large tomatoes very excited.

My herbs have really shot up they seem to really like my epsom salt spray which increases the magnesium in the soil. Below is the picture of what they looked like about 2-3 weeks ago.

Dill, Purple Basil, and Sweet Basil

Dill, Purple Basil, and Sweet Basil


20130718-184326.jpg

This is where the hosta’s and astilbe were in front of the garage when I first planted them.

These are my first attempts at a garden

These are my first attempts at a garden

I had to transplant the hostas in front of the garage because they were burning up I really thought the area only got the morning sun but it seems like the sun is torching them… Now they are in the back by my patio. Let’s see how they do!

Transplanted from the front of the house

Transplanted from the front of the house

Same story with these guys, they were in font of the garage so I am trying to put them in a shady spot behind the house and under our spare bedroom window. They shouldn’t grow too tall I can’t afford to lose any light that comes into the bedrooms. The hosta’s were from my step mom’s house I cut them up and am going to see if they survive and grow nice and big. (I read that you should do this in the spring or fall after I did it.)

Transplanted Astilbe's from the garage and Mary's hostas cut up

Transplanted Astilbe’s from the garage and Mary’s hostas cut up

Here are some more hostas.

transplated hostas

Okay so we have this treelined area that backs to our yard that is really nice for privacy, but has lots of weeds and grasses that grow wild since the association just keeps it from growing onto our property. This area is extremely shady.

Trying to hide the overgrown weeds and grasses at the back of our yard with hostas I cut up. Fingers crossed...

Trying to hide the overgrown weeds and grasses at the back of our yard with hostas I cut up. Fingers crossed…

I can’t really take credit for this it’s from Home depot. It has red white and blue flowers in it and comes with an american flag and interchangable welcome sign. I thought I could use it next year also and add my own fun annual flowers.

Front Porch Planter I bought from Home Depot for the 4th of July

Front Porch Planter I bought from Home Depot for the 4th of July

I still have lots of mulching and preening to do as well as planting an digging up other things. Hope you enjoy watching the progress as I am.

One Comment
  1. Maggie permalink

    Loving your green thumb!!! Everything looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

