Skip to content

Lemon pasta with shrimp and broccoli

July 23, 2013

Lemon pasta with broccoli and shrimp

Lemon pasta with broccoli and shrimp

We had this for dinner last night I was having such a hankering for pasta and saw lemon and I was sold! I used This is my spin on http://www.eatgood4life.com/2011/04/lemon-pasta-with-shrimp-and-broccoli.html because I had broccoli and shrimp and needed to get rid of them. 😉

Next time I would use A LOT more lemon and steam the broccoli slightly before adding to the recipe. And instead of bow tie spaghetti noodles.

Ingredients:

1 box, bow tie whole wheat pasta
5-9 tablespoons olive oil
6 cloves garlic, minced, I love garlic you can use 3-4
1 pound large shrimp, I used precooked and thawed them
Fresh dill to taste*** from my garden 😉 ***, chopped (Miryam had parsley next time I use arugula because I’m obsessed)
1 lemon, zest grated
2-3 cups fresh broccoli
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice, 2 lemons
1/4 lemon, thinly sliced in half-rounds
1 teaspoon hot red pepper flakes, optional
Freshly grated Parmesan cheese, optional
Salt and Lemon Pepper to taste

Directions:

Cook pasta for 8 to 10 minutes, or according to the directions on the package.

Meanwhile, in heavy pan, add olive oil over medium-low heat. Add broccoli and cook for 3-4 minutes.(I cooked mine for atleast 15 minutes because I hate hard hot broccoli) Add the garlic. Saute for 1 minute. Add the shrimp, salt, and saute for about 2 minutes, just until shrimp warms through.

Turn heat off and add the dill, lemon zest, lemon juice, lemon slices, and red pepper flakes. Toss to combine.

When the pasta is done, drain the cooked spaghetti and then put it back in the pot. Immediately add the shrimp and sauce, toss well, and serve.

From → Food

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

